What is NCAA Division II?

 Division 2 schools are the second level of completion overseen by the NCAA.  Division 2 schools are allowed to offer athletic scholarships to their student-athletes.  NCAA Division 2 schools also have athletic and academic guidelines that are governed by the NCAA, both programs and individual athletes have to adhere to rules set forth by […]

What is NCAA Division I?

There are 346 NCAA Division 1 schools, what does it mean to be a Division 1 school? Every Division 1 school has to sponsor at least 7 sports for men and 7 seven sports for women (or 6 men and 8 women). At least 2 of the sports for both men and women need to […]

What tests do I need to take to be eligible?

The tests you need to take depend on what collegiate level you want to play. NCAA Divisions 1 and 2 require that you take either the SAT or the ACT. For D1 and D2 schools, the NCAA Eligibility Center uses a sliding scale to see if your standardized test score is high enough. The minimum […]

What are the NCAA academic requirements?

The NCAA Eligibility Center requires that high school athletes meet minimum qualifications if they want to compete for an NCAA program. Here are the requirements for a Division I school: ~Graduate from high school ~Complete these 16 core courses ~Earn a minimum required grade-point average in your core courses ~Earn a combined SAT or ACT […]

What is the NCAA Guide for the College Athlete?

The NCAA publishes an annual guide for high school student-athletes who are interested in pursuing sports in college. The guide focuses on what you need to become eligible at an NCAA school, including academic requirements and resources you can use to become eligible. The NCAA writes this guide for athlete, parents/guardians, and for high school […]

What is the NCAA?

 The NCAA stands for National Collegiate Athletic Association. They are the organization responsible for overseeing the college sports competitions at over 1,200 college athletic departments. The NCAA is “committed to the student-athlete and to govern competition in a fair, safe, inclusive and sportsmanlike manner.”

Are you ready for the NEXT STEP!