Ivy League Athletics and Sport

High Academic Standards without Athletic Scholarships

The term Ivy League represents eight colleges and universities in the eastern part of the U.S. This term was first used in 1938 by Caswell Adams of the New York Tribune and soon became a household name all throughout the country and the field of college athletics. The following colleges and universities are all Ivy League institutions:

· Harvard University
· Yale University
· University of Pennsylvania
· Princeton University
· Columbia University
· Brown University
· Dartmouth University
· Cornell University

History of the Ivy League

In 1945, the first “Ivy Group Agreement” was signed. This agreement covered the sport of football only. The agreement outlined the eligibility requirements for players from these colleges, including academic standards and financial aid. It was the first agreement that outlined the common practices required for sporting events for intercollegiate competitions. This agreement led to the founding of the Ivy League in February 1954. This agreement was developed because of the intercollegiate sports shared between these universities.

The unique aspect of the colleges and universities in the Ivy League is that they were all involved in sporting events with each other for the last six decades. Each was considered allies in college sports because of the established leagues in ice hockey, baseball, basketball, and swimming. In addition, the Heptagonal Games Association was formed which covered several sport leagues, including track and field, baseball, and swimming. The athletic directors of the Ivy League schools grew accustomed to working with each other, and thus the term Ivy League was created.

Current Details

Today, the Ivy League is nationally recognized for its success and high standards in academics and sports. Despite national pressures on intercollegiate rules and requirements, the Ivy League has been successful in competing in Division I athletics. Today, the Ivy League has numerous athletic opportunities for men and women in sports, including football, baseball, basketball, golf, ice hockey, soccer, squash, wrestling, and tennis. From the 1956–1957 season through the 2010–2011 season, the Ivy League has won 43 NCAA team championships and 174 NCAA individual/event championships. Each year, numerous athletes are named to All-America teams and several earn postgraduate scholarships. Ivy League colleges are in the top 15 rankings academically in the U.S. They are often known for their attendance by numerous political figures in this country. Students accepted into the Ivy League earn a prestige reward associated with the names of these colleges. Not only do these college names stand out on resumes, the competitiveness of the sports is among the top in the country.

Prospective Ivy League Student Athletes

The Ivy League holds high standards for acceptance into one of the eight colleges or universities. In addition to seeking students who are remarkable academically, the Ivy League attempts to find students with remarkable athletic abilities. For acceptance into the Ivy League, there are numerous requirements a student must meet. Students are accepted based on numerous factors, including personal accomplishments and athletic achievements. For students with financial needs, the Financial Aid Office determines if financial aid will be awarded. The distinct factor that sets the Ivy League apart from other colleges is the rigorous attempt these colleges take to recruit students who demonstrate the highest academics and sports abilities. Throughout the years, the Ivy League has proved its abilities in numerous sports.

Author: David Frank

Gain Exposure. Get Recruited.

Find opportunities for athletic scholarships and get connected to college coaches.